Textbox Section

The 2012-13 Executive Committee

The Executive is made up of four elected representatives from within the ACIUCN membership - two from government and two from non government members. In addition, the regional IUCN Councillor resident in Australia serves on the committee and a Treasurer may be seconded. The Executive is responsible for carrying out the administrative affairs of the Committee and attending to matters between meetings. The Chair is elected from the Executive and the role alternates every two years between government and non-government members.


Textbox Section

Dr. Hanna Jaireth

National Environmental Law Association

Dr. Hanna Jaireth is an Executive Member of the National Environment Law Association (NELA) - a non-government member of the IUCN. Hanna also chairs the management committee of the Environmental Defender’s Office (ACT), which is part of the Australian Network of Environmental Defenders’ Offices (ANEDO). ANEDO is also a non-government member of the IUCN.

Hanna was elected to the ACIUCN at the 2012 AGM, but she has been involved with the IUCN since October 1996, when she was invited to deliver a paper at the first World Conservation Congress in Montreal, Canada, and to join the Commission on Environmental, Economic and Social Policy (CEESP). Hanna later joined the Commission on Environmental Law (CEL) and the World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA). She has been an active contributor to many IUCN volunteer projects.

Hanna has a longstanding interest in sustainable development and human rights, and has worked as an academic, lawyer, public servant and communications officer in a range of private and public sector positions. She completed undergraduate Arts/Law(Hons) and postgraduate international relations degrees. Her PhD analysed the global governance of plant genetic resources through security, sustainability and human rights lenses.

Michael Roache

The Wilderness Society

Michael Roache is the National Science Manager with The Wilderness Society. The role provides strategic and scientific advice to priority campaigns on the Kimberley, Cape York, and Tasmanian and Victorian forests. In addition, he is leading the development of a continental-scale assessment of conservation priorities, explicitly incorporating the spatial and temporal elements of key ecological processes. His role also has oversight of The Wilderness Society’s science, research and development program, focusing on ecology, climate science, Indigenous conservation and sustainable economic development.

He has worked for WWF-Australia as the National Threatened Species Program Manager, and has written action plans for the recovery of threatened kangaroo species in Australia and Papua New Guinea. He served as the national manager of the Threatened Species Network, a national network of advisors who facilitated recovery programs and community grants. Michael coordinated the development of WWF’s latest five-year strategic plan, and is currently undertaking post-graduate study in management of not-for-profit organisations, with a focus on governance, marketing, finance and human resources.

Michael has worked extensively in wetland ecology around Australia, marine turtle conservation in the Caribbean, and tropical forest research in the Brazilian Amazon.



Textbox Section

Andrew Maclean - ACIUCN Chair

Wet Tropics Management Authority

Andrew is the Executive Director of the Wet Tropics Management Authority, a position he has held since August 2007. Andrew has nearly 30 years of professional experience in land and resource management, gained in a variety of roles in Victoria and latterly, the Wet Tropics Management Authority. His professional interests are in the management of public land, protected areas and native forests, including in particular implementation of strategic planning systems and community engagement. Andrew holds a Bachelors degree in Applied Science (Ballarat) and Master’s degrees in Environmental Management (UNE) and in Public Administration (ANZSOG).

Peter Cochrane

Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

Peter, as Director of National Parks, heads Parks Australia. Responsibilities include Kakadu and Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Parks, the Australian National Botanic Gardens, and the Australian Biological Resources Study. He is a former member of the ACIUCN Executive and a past President. He led the Australian delegations to the last three IUCN World Conservation Congresses and CoP10 of the CBD in 2010. He has been a member of the World Protected Areas Leadership Forum and WCPA since 2000. Peter co-chairs the National Steering Committee and is on the International Steering Committee for the 2014 World Parks Congress, and the National Landscape Reference Committee with Tourism Australia.



Textbox Section

Professor Brendan Mackey

IUCN Councillor

Prof Brendan Mackey is Director of the Griffith Climate Change Response Program. He has a PhD in ecology from the Australian National University. He has a special interest in the science and policy of ecosystem-based adaptation and mitigation and related public policy issues. He is one of three Oceania regional councilors and in that capacity serves on IUCN's governing Council. Brendan also serves on various governmental advisory bodies including the science advisory group to the Climate Change Commission.